Section News

Vol. 19 No. 2

2013 Award Recipients Announced

Senator George J. Mitchell to Receive the D’Alemberte Raven Award

The D’Alemberte Raven Award recognizes leaders in the dispute resolution community for their significant contributions to the field. The award is named for the late Robert D. Raven of San Francisco and Talbot D’Alemberte of Tallahassee, former ABA presidents and pioneers with the ABA in the area of dispute resolution.

Senator George J. Mitchell has demonstrated extraordinary dispute resolution skills throughout his distinguished career. Among his many achievements, he chaired the Northern Ireland peace talks that ended the historic conflict and resulted in an agreement based on a set of nonviolent principles. As the Majority Leader of the United States Senate from 1989 to 1995, he helped Congress find consensus on thorny issues such as the reauthorization of the Clean Air Act and passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act. In 2009, Mitchell was appointed by President Obama to be the US Special Envoy to the Middle East. In these roles as well as many others, Mitchell modeled problem-solving strategies and skills that have averted conflicts between nations and helped parties find innovative and lasting agreements. In 2008, Time described him as one of the 100 most influential people in the world.

The D’Alemberte Raven Award will be presented to Senator Mitchell at the Section of Dispute Resolution Spring Conference in Chicago on April 5, 2013.

Professor Leonard Riskin to Receive Award for Outstanding Scholarly Work

The ABA Section of Dispute Resolution Award for Outstanding Scholarly Work honors individuals whose scholarship has significantly contributed to the dispute resolution field. Professor Leonard Riskin, the Chesterfield Smith Professor of Law at the University of Florida’s Levin College of Law, has helped us appreciate the radically different “philosophical maps” used by attorneys operating in traditional adversarial and collaborative systems. His famous “Grid for the Perplexed” helped us appreciate the wide range of mediator behaviors and issue orientations dominating mediation sessions, and the choices available to parties in selecting a neutral. His scholarship draws broadly from other disciplines, encouraging in all of us a deeper reflection on the essence of the processes of ADR, especially in his most recent writings about mindfulness. His scholarship has helped create a framework for greater understanding of the ADR field, more scholarship and improved practice.

The Award for Scholarly Work will be presented to Professor Riskin on April 6 during the Section of Dispute Resolution Spring Conference in Chicago.

Call for Nominations for Section Leadership Positions

The Section of Dispute Resolution’s Nominating Committee, which is responsible for nominating individuals for Section Council positions, seeks nominations for the leadership positions that will be filled for the 2013-2014 American Bar Association year. The Nominating Committee is now accepting nominations for four at-large Section Council positions and three executive committee positions: budget officer, vice chair and chair-elect.

At-large council members serve three-year terms and are expected to participate in four quarterly in-person meetings of the council. In addition, council members work on task forces, ad hoc and standing committees as well as various other projects and events. The budget officer, vice chair and chair-elect positions have one-year terms.

To be eligible for election to these positions, nominees must have been section members for at least one year prior to nomination. Individuals may self-nominate or may be nominated by others by sending a letter and brief biographical statement no later than April 19, 2013, to David Moora at

2013-2014 ABA Section of Dispute Resolution Committee Leadership Applications 

The Section Council is seeking applicants from section members who are interested in taking on a leadership role with one of the section committees. 

Committee leadership in the Section of Dispute Resolution comes with substantial benefits. As a leader, you can:

  • Demonstrate your knowledge and reputation in a substantive area of dispute resolution
  • Develop leadership skills with hands -–on experience and through our quarterly committee chair meetings
  • Work with a diverse group of professionals focused on improving the profession
  • Establish lasting professional relationships
  • Establish national (and international) credentials as a leader in the field

Members may apply to serve as committee chairs, vice chairs and subcommittee chairs. The deadline to submit an application is April 15, 2013. For more information on committees and the online application, please visit the committee page on our website:




DISPUTE RESOLUTION MAGAZINE is published quarterly (4 times a year) by the American Bar Association Section of Dispute Resolution. Dispute Resolution Magazine provides timely, insightful and resourceful information regarding the latest developments, news and trends in the growing field of dispute resolution throughout the world and features internationally-known scholars and practitioners as authors.


Dispute Resolution Magazine Editorial Board

Joseph B. Stulberg
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
Columbus, OH


Andrea Kupfer Schneider
Marquette University Law School
Milwaukee, WI


Chair Emeritus
Frank Sander
Cambridge, MA


James Coben
Hamline University School of Law
St. Paul, MN


Marvin Johnson
Silver Spring, MD


Bennett G. Picker
Stradley Ronon
Philadelphia, PA


Effie D. Silva
McDermott Will & Emory LLP
Miami, FL


Donna Stienstra
Federal Judicial Center
Washington, DC


Zena Zumeta
Mediation Training & Consultation Institute
Ann Arbor, MI


Nancy Welsh
Carlisle, PA
Council Liaison


Gina Viola Brown


Associate Editor
Louisa Williams

Law Student Editors
Darlene Hemerka

Joyce Fondong

Penn State University

Dickinson Schools of Law


The Editorial Board welcomes the submission of article concepts as well as draft articles relevant to the field of dispute resolution. The Editorial Board reviews all submissions and makes final decisions as to the publication of articles in Dispute Resolution Magazine. Author guidelines for submissions are available below.

Subscription to Dispute Resolution Magazine is included in the membership dues of the Section of Dispute Resolution. Nonmembers of the Dispute Resolution Section may subscribe to the Magazine for $55.00 per year. Additional shipping charges will apply to international addresses. Subscriptions can be purchased online at the ABA web store.  


For more information about becoming a member, see the Member Center.


Section Leadership

Back to Entity's Publications Page

Author Guidelines

  • Advertising with DRM