State Loan Repayment Assistance Programs

State LRAP Programs & Contacts

There are 26 statewide loan repayment assistance programs (LRAPs) providing assistance in Arizona, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska (two programs), New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York (two programs), North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont, and Virginia. Kansas has an LRAP that operates in 50 of the state’s 105 counties. (See Program Contact information listed below).

These 26 LRAPs range in size and scope. Almost all require participants to be working in public interest law. Some are funded through state legislative appropriations while others rely on funding from the private sector or from Interest on Lawyers Trust Accounts (IOLTA) funding.

The statewide LRAPs are summarized in these charts.


State LRAPs and Contacts

 

ARIZONA
Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education
Joyce Holsey’s ALL Loan Repayment Assistance Program
Chris Groninger
Chris.Groninger@azflse.org

602-773-3402

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
District of Columbia Bar Foundation
Imoni Washington
lrap@dcbarfoundation.org

202-467-3750

FLORIDA
The Florida Bar Foundation
Andrea Horne
ahorne@flabarfndn.org

407-960-7000

ILLINOIS
The Chicago Bar Foundation
Sun-Times Public Interest Law Fellowship (LRAP award)
Dina Merrell
dmerrell@chicagobar.org

312-554-1206

INDIANA
Indiana Bar Foundation
Justice Richard M. Givan Loan Repayment Assistance Program
Michael Tranovich
mtranovich@inbf.org
317-269-2415

KANSAS
Kansas Department of Commerce
Rural Opportunity Zones Student Loan Repayment
Brett Sayre
bsayre@kansascommerce.com

785-296-5298

LOUISIANA
Louisiana Bar Foundation
Renee Bienvenu LeBoeuf
renee@raisingthebar.org

504-561-1046


MAINE
Maine Justice Foundation
Joan Gilbert
jgilbert@justicemaine.org

207-622-3477

MARYLAND
Maryland Higher Education Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance
Janet L. Hoffman Loan Assistance Repayment Program
Terica Prater
terica.prater@maryland.gov
410- 767-3114

MASSACHUSETTS
Massachusetts Legal Assistance Corporation
Lonnie Powers
lpowers@mlac.org

617-367-1414

MINNESOTA
Loan Repayment Assistance Program of MN (LRAP-MN)
Heather Rastorfer Vlieger
HeatherRV@mnbar.org

612-278-6315

MISSISSIPPI
Mississippi Bar Foundation
Angie K. Cook
acook@msbar.org
601- 948-5234

MONTANA
Montana Justice Foundation
Niki Zupanic
mtf@mtjustice.org

406-523-3920

NEBRASKA
Nebraska Lawyers Trust Account Foundation
Doris J. Huffman
doris@nebarfnd.org

402- 475-1042


NEBRASKA

Nebraska Commission on Public Advocacy
Rita J. Wesely
rwesely@ncpa.ne.gov

402-471-8088

NEW HAMPSHIRE
New Hampshire Bar Foundation
Lisha Brosseau
lbrosseau@nhbar.org
603-715-3210

NEW MEXICO
New Mexico Higher Education Department
Public Service Law Loan Repayment Program
Mia Candelaria
miapcandelaria@state.nm.us

505-476-8411

NEW YORK
New York Higher Education Services Corporation
NYS District Attorney and Indigent Legal Services Attorney Loan Forgiveness (DALF) Program

NEW YORK
New York State Bar Association
Steven C. Krane Student Loan Assistance for the Public Interest Program
Kristen A. Wagner
kwagner@nysba.org

518-463-3200 


NORTH CAROLINA
North Carolina Legal Education Assistance Fund
Esther Hall
ehall@ncleaf.org

919-845-6089

OHIO
Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation
Susan Choe
schoe@olaf.org

614-715-8568

OREGON
Oregon State Bar
Cathy Petrecca
cpetrecca@osbar.org

503-431-6355

PENNSYLVANIA
Pennsylvania Bar Foundation
E. Marie Queen
Marie.Queen@pabar.org
888-238-3036

TEXAS
Texas Access to Justice Foundation
Lisa Melton
ldmelton@teajf.org
512- 320-0099

VERMONT
Vermont Bar Foundation
Deborah Bailey
dbailey@vtbarfoundation.org

802-223-1400

VIRGINIA
Legal Services Corporation of Virginia
Mark D. Braley
mark.lscv@mindspring.com
804-782-9438

Advertisement