2010 Thurgood Marshall Award

2010 Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner


Recipient: Paul M. Smith, U.S. Supreme Court Advocate, Partner, Jenner & Block

The 2010 Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner was held on Saturday, Aug. 7, 2010, during the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, Calif.  A partner in the Washington, D.C. office of Jenner & Block, Smith is one of the country’s leading lawyers in the areas of First Amendment litigation and appellate advocacy.  He has presented oral argument in more than a dozen Supreme Court cases, including his groundbreaking advocacy in Lawrence v. Texas, the landmark gay rights case that struck down Texas' sodomy law. 

The keynote address was delivered by Pamela S. Karlan, the Kenneth and Harle Montgomery Professor of Public Interest Law at Stanford Law School and the founding director of the school’s successful Supreme Court Litigation Clinic.  Before joining the Standford Law School faculty, Karlan served as law clerk to Justice Harry A. Blackmun of the U.S. Supreme Court and Judge Abraham D. Sofaer of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York.



Premier Sponsor

Jenner & Block LLP

Gold Sponsor


Silver Sponsors

Morrison Foerster LLP

Benefactor Sponsors

Holland & Knight LLP
Bank of the West
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Patron Sponsors

Cooley LLP
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Fenwick & West LLP
Goodin MacBride Squeri Day & Lamprey, LLP
Golden Gate University School of Law
National Center for Lesbian Rights
Nelson Mullins
Shartsis Friese LLP
Quinn Emanuel

Friend Sponsors

Carlson Calladine & Peterson LLP
Hassard Bonnington LLP
National LGBT Bar Association
ABA Center for Human Rights
ABA Commission on Women in the Profession
ABA Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession
ABA Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity