Sharon L. Corbitt Award

The Sharon L. Corbitt Award

The ABA Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence created the Sharon Corbitt Award in 2008 to recognize exceptional service and leadership to improving the legal response to domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault and/or stalking by a lawyer from any area of practice, including non-profit, private firm, government, corporate counsel, and the judiciary, in the spirit of Sharon L. Corbitt.

Sharon L. Corbitt was an active member of the American Bar Association for 25 years, serving as a member of the Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence from 2002­ to 2005 after completing her term as Chair of the Family Law Section.  In honor of her exemplary professional and personal contributions to victims of domestic violence throughout her career, this award will recognize an attorney each year who embodies her spirit and dedication.

2014 Sharon L. Corbitt Award Winner

Lynn Hecht Schafran

How do I submit a nomination for the 2015 Sharon Corbitt Award?

Any person familiar with the achievements of a candidate may submit a nomination. The Commission urges nominators to choose only one worthy candidate a year. If there is more than one worthy candidate in your community, separate nominations for each must be submitted. No self-nominations will be accepted.  Nominations must be submitted electronically via Qualtrics by Monday March 30, 2015 5:00 p.m. ET.  


The nomination packet should include:

Nomination Form: The nomination form must be completed and returned as the cover sheet for the nomination package. 

Candidate's Resume:  Include the candidate’s resume or biography, describing her/his background and contributions. Maximum two pages (in Word).

Award Criteria Narrative:  In no more than 1200 words, provide specific, concrete examples for the first selection criterion and at least one of the other required criteria. Provide a detailed narrative explanation of the candidate’s service, including: how the nominee's service is outstanding, significant and "above the call of duty”; the time frame of the service; and assessment of the impact of the extraordinary service.

References:  Please provide names, titles and phone numbers of three other persons who are familiar with nominee's achievements and who are willing to be contacted by the Award committee.

No other supporting materials may be submitted. Additional information may be requested by the Award committee.


  • Eligibility Requirements