Lawyer Incubator Directory

ARIZONA

ASU Alumni Law Group
2 N. Central Ave, Suite 1600
Phoenix, Arizona 85004
(602) 251-3620


Kelly J. Flood
(602) 251-3622
kelly.flood@asualumnilawgroup.org


Status of program: operational as of March 2014


James E. Rogers Community Law Group
University of Arizona, James E. Rogers College of Law
1201 N. Santa Rita Ave.
Tucson, Arizona 85719


Negar Katirai
(520) 626-2256
nkatirai@email.arizona.edu


Status of program: operational as of November 2014

 

CALIFORNIA


Access to Law Initiative (ALI)

California Western School of Law
225 Cedar Street
San Diego, California 92101


Anne-Marie Rabago
Director
(619) 525-7091 
ARabago@cwsl.edu


Status of program: operational as of June 2012


BALI - Bay Area Legal Incubator
Volunteer Legal Services Corporation; the Alameda County Bar Association; University of California Hastings College of the Law; University of California, Berkeley School of Law; Golden Gate University School of Law; University of San Francisco School of Law; Santa Clara University School of Law; the Alameda County Law Library; and legal services providers.


125 12th St., Ste 100-BALI
Oakland, CA 94607
Phone: 510.473.5592 
www.bayarealegalincubator.org

Cynthia Chandler
Mentoring Attorney
Cynthia@acbanet.org

Status of program: operational as of January 2016


Center for Solo Practitioners
Thomas Jefferson School of Law
707 Broadway
San Diego, California 92101


Lilys D. McCoy
Director, The Center for Solo Practitioners
(619) 961-4353
lmccoy@tjsl.edu


Status of program: operational as of November 2012


Community Law Practice Incubator (CLPI)
Bar Association of San Francisco & The Justice and Diversity Center
www.sfbar.org/clpi

Hamid Yazdan Panah
BASF/JDC CLPI Coordinator
hpanah@sfbar.org
(415) 782-8912

Status of program: Infrastructure established, program set to launch with participants September 2016


Lawyer Entrepreneur Assistance Program (LEAP)
Legal Aid Society of Orange County
2101 North Tustin Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92705

Andrew J. Benard, J.D.
LEAP Fellow
Legal Aid Society of Orange County
(714) 571-5200
Incubator@legal-aid.com


Chapman University, Fowler School of Law contact:

Laurie Ellen Park, Esq.
Assistant Director of Career Services
(714) 628-2550
lpark@chapman.edu

Status of program: operational as of January 2013; collaboration with Chapman began in January 2015

See also the Whittier Legal Access Program


Lawyers for Family Justice
Family Justice Center

Tamina Alon
Lawyers for Family Justice
256 24th Street
Richmond, CA 94804
(510) 974-7200
tamina@cocofamilyjustice.org
www.cclawyers.org

Status of program: operational as of January 2016


Los Angeles Incubator Consortium

Southwestern, Pepperdine University, Loyola and UCLA law schools; Los Angeles County Law Library; and five legal aid organizations: Bet Tzedek, Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles, Community Legal Services, Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles and Public Counsel

Maria E. Hall
Southwestern Law School Legal Clinic
3050 Wilshire Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90010
(323) 741-2950
laincubatorconsortium@gmail.com


Status of program: operational as of March 2015


Modest Means Incubator Program
California Lawyers for the Arts
Wells Fargo Building
2140 Shattuck Ave., Suite 310
Berkeley, CA 94704


Robert G. Pimm, Esq.
Chief Learning Officer & Director of Legal Services
(510) 990-6029
bob.pimm@calawyersforthearts.org


Status of program: operational as of August 2014


The New Solo Practitioner Incubator
Monterey College of Law
100 Colonel Durham St.
Seaside, CA 93955


Sara Sturtevant
Associate Dean of Community Education
(831) 582-4000
ssturtevant@montereylaw.edu


Status of program: operational as of September 2014


Public Interest Advocacy Clinic

William A. Adams
(619) 233-8200
piaclegal@gmail.com
http://piaclaw.org/

Status of program: operational as of January 2015


RoyseLaw Community Legal Services
Royse Law Firm, PC
1717 Embarcadero Road
Palo Alto, CA 94303

Roger Royse
(650) 813-9700 Ext. 201
rroyse@rroyselaw.com


Status: operational as of Fall 2015


Sustainable Economies Law Center Fellowship Program

Cameron Rhudy, Staff Attorney
2323 Broadway, #203
Oakland, CA 94612
cameron@theselc.org


Status of program: operational as of September 2013


Whittier Legal Access Program
Whittier Law School
3333 Harbor Blvd.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626


Martin H. Pritikin
Associate Dean, Whittier Law School
(714) 444-4141 ext 112.
mpritikin@law.whittier.edu


Status of program: operational as of January 2015

See also the Lawyer Entrepreneur Assistance Program

CONNECTICUT

Justice Legal Center at the Center for Family Justice

753 Fairfield Avenue
Bridgeport, CT  06604

Angela Schlingheyde
Director of Civil Legal & Court Advocacy Services
(203) 334-6154  ext. 127
aschlingheyde@centerforfamilyjustice.org

Jennifer Ferrante 
Incubator Program Coordinator
(203) 334-6154  ext. 165
jferrante@centerforfamilyjustice.org


Status of program: will be operational January 2017

FLORIDA


Nova Southeastern University | Shepard Broad College of Law Legal Incubator


Jayme M. Cassidy
Director, Shepard Broad College of Law Veterans Clinic
Staff Attorney, Nova Southeastern University,
Shepard Broad College of Law
3305 College Ave., Leo Goodwin Sr. Hall
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314 
phone: (954) 262-6184
fax: (954) 262-3832 
Jcassidy1@nova.edu

Status of program: operational as of March 2016


St. Thomas University School of Law EDGE Program


David M. Gersten, Esq.
Partner, Gordon & Rees
200 S. Biscayne Blvd., Suite 4300
Miami, FL 33131
Ph: (305) 428-5300
dgersten@gordonrees.com


Status of program: operational as of September 2016

GEORGIA

Lawyers for Equal Justice, Inc.
State Bar of Georgia, Supreme Court of Georgia, Atlanta Legal Aid Society, Georgia Legal Services Program, Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers Foundation, Georgia State University College of Law, Emory University School of Law, John Marshall Law School, University of Georgia School of Law, Mercer University Law School

229 Peachtree Street, NE
Suite 450 - International Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Stephanie Everett
(404) 474-7447
info@L4EJ.org or stephanie@L4EJ.org
lawyersforequaljustice.com

Status of program: operational as of March 2016

Hawai'i

Hawai'i Emerging Legal Practitioners (HELP) Access to Justice Project
William S. Richardson School of Law, Legal Aid Society of Hawai'i, and Volunteer Legal Services Hawai'i 


Daniel L. Barnett
Professor of Law
William S. Richardson School of Law
University of Hawai'i
2515 Dole Street
Honolulu, HI  96822
(808) 956.9774
daniel.barnett@hawaii.edu


Status of program: operational as of Fall 2015

ILLINOIS


Justice Entrepreneurs Project
Chicago Bar Foundation
321 S. Plymouth Ct., Suite 3B
Chicago IL 60604
(312) 546-3282


Trevor Clarke
Director, Justice Entrepreneurs Project
tclarke@chicagobar.org


Status of program: operational as of June 2013


Solo & Small Practice Incubator
IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
565 W Adams St.
Chicago, IL 60661


Dawn Young
Director, Solo & Small Practice Incubator
(312) 906-5003
dyoung@kentlaw.iit.edu


Status of program: operational as of November 2012

LOUISIANA

Legal Innovators for Tomorrow (LIFT) Fellowship Program
Louisiana State Bar Association
601 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130


Amy Duncan
Access to Justice Training and Projects Counsel, Louisiana State Bar Association
(504) 619-0148
amy.duncan@lsba.org


Status of program: operational as of February 2014


Incubator Program
Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
7214 St. Charles Avenue
Campus Box 902
New Orleans, LA 70118

Davida Finger
Clinic Professor
dfinger@loyno.edu


Status of program: operational as of January 2015

MAINE


Maine Community Law Center
75 Pearl Street, Suite 470
Portland, ME 04101


Elizabeth F. Stout
(207) 482-3832
stout@mainecommunitylaw.org


Status of program: operational as of September 2015

MARYLAND

Law Entrepreneurs for Access Program (LEAP)
Civil Justice, Inc., the University of Baltimore School of Law, and the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law


Lynette A. Whitfield
Program Director, Law Entrepreneurs for Access Program
Civil Justice, Inc. 
520 W. Fayette Street, Suite 410
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 706-0174
LWhitfield@civiljusticenetwork.org  


Status of program: operational January 2016

MASSACHUSETTS

Justice Bridge – Legal Residency and Incubator Program
University of Massachusetts School of Law
333 Faunce Corner Rd
North Dartmouth, MA 02747


Mary Lu Bilek
Dean and Professor of Law
UMass School of Law
(508) 985-1189
MBilek@umassd.edu


Len Zandrow
Brister & Zandrow, LLP
(508) 746-9553
zandrow@bz-law.com


Status of program: operational as of August 2014


Lawyers for Affordable Justice
Boston College Law School, Boston University School of Law, and Northeastern University School of Law

650 Beacon Street, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02215
857-277-1963
laj@lawyers4aj.org


Paul R. Tremblay
Clinical Professor of Law
Director, Community Enterprise Clinic
Boston College Law School
885 Centre Street, Newton Centre, MA 02459
(617) 552-0256
paul.tremblay@bc.edu


Status of program: operational as of January 2016

MICHIGAN


Solo & Small Firm Incubator Program

University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
651 East Jefferson Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226


Tammy M. Kudialis, Esq., LL.M.
Director & Clinical Program Administrator
University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
(313) 596.9409
kudialtm@udmercy.edu

Status of program: operational as of October 2014

MINNESOTA


Collaborative Community Law Initiative (CCLI)

St. Paul, Minnesota


Karin Ciano
Acting Executive Director
karin@cclimn.org
collaborativecommunitylaw@gmail.com


Status of program: operational as of November 2016

MISSISSIPPI


Incubator Residency Program

Mississippi College School of Law
151 E. Griffith Str. 
Jackson, MS 39201

Dean Wendy Scott
Director
(601) 925-7101
wbscott@mc.edu  


Sherry S. Johnson
(601 925-7109
ssjohnson@mc.edu


Status of program: will be operational fall 2017

MISSOURI

 

Midwest Center for Law and Justice
1801 W Norton Suite 202
Springfield, MO 65803


Marsha Stiles
Managing Attorney
(417) 833-9394
info@mwjusticecenter.com

Status of program: operational as of April 2014


UMKC Solo and Small Firm Incubator
University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law
4743 Troost Ave.
Kansas City, Missouri 64110


Malika S. Simmons
Assistant Clinical Professor
816.235.6139
simmonsmal@umkc.edu


Status of program: operational as of January 2011

NEW JERSEY


Associates Fellowship Program
Rutgers School of Law - Newark
Center for Law and Justice
123 Washington St.
Newark, NJ 07102


Andrew J. Rothman, Esq.
Associate Dean
(973) 353-5671
andrew.rothman@rutgers.edu


Status of program: operational as of February 2014

NEW MEXICO


Entrepreneurs in Community Lawyering

New Mexico State Bar Foundation


Stormy Ralstin
State Bar of New Mexico
P.O. Box 92860
Albuquerque, NM 87199-2860
(505) 797-6000


Status of program: operational as of October 2016

NEW YORK

Access to Justice Incubator

Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Lisa M. Petrocelli, Esq.
Executive Director/Managing Attorney
Hofstra Law Access to Justice Incubator
121 Hofstra University, Room 029H
Hempstead, NY 11549
(516) 463-4157
Lisa.M.Petrocelli@hofstra.edu

Status of program: operational as of February 2014


Community Justice Center of Long Island (CJCLI)

Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
225 Eastview Drive
Central Islip, NY 11722


Daniel G. De Pasquale  
Coordinating Attorney
(631) 881-0040
dan@dgdpc.com


Status of program: operational as of November 2013


Court Square Law Project
New York City Bar Association and the City University of New York School of Law


Court Square Law Project
at CUNY School of Law
2 Court Square
Long Island City, NY 11101

(718) 340-4412
info@courtsquarelaw.org


Status of program: operational as of February 2016


Pace Community Law Practice
Pace University School of Law
33 Crane Ave.
White Plaines, NY 10603
(914) 422-4022
pclp@law.pace.edu


Karin Anderson Ponzer
Executive Director
Kanderson2@law.pace.edu


Status of program: operational as of September 2012


Resident Associate Mentoring Program (RAMP)
Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law
Yeshiva University, Brookdale Campus
55 Fifth Avenue (at 12th Street)
New York, NY 10003


Dean Patricia Morrissy
patricia.morrissy@yu.edu


Status of program: operational as of October 2013

NORTH CAROLINA


Elon Law Legal Incubator

Elon Law School

Peter T. Hoffman
Professor of Law and Director of Skills Programs
(336) 279-9235 
phoffman@elon.edu


Status of program: operational as of October 2015


Small Practice Center
Charlotte School of Law
1300 South Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28203 

Mark Heekin
mmheekin@charlottelaw.edu 


Status of program: operational as of October 2012

OHIO


Akron Bar Association Incubator Program

57 South Broadway
Akron, OH 44308


Allen Nichols
Executive Director                
Akron Bar Association and Foundation
(330) 253-5007 
callen@akronbar.org


Status of program: operational as of September 2015


Cleveland-Marshall Solo Practice Incubator
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University
2121 Euclid Ave. LB 138
Cleveland, OH 44115


Chris Sagers
James A. Thomas Distinguished Professor of Law
(216) 687-2319
c.sagers@csuohio.edu


Status of program: operational as of January 2014


Columbus Bar, INC
175 South Third Street, 11th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215


Jill Snitcher McQuain
Executive Director
Jill@cbalaw.org


Jocelyn Armstrong
Program Administrator
614-340-2051
Jocelyn@cbalaw.org


Status of program: operational as of April 2011


Fair Shake Environmental Legal Services
159 South Main Street, Suite 1030
Akron, Ohio 44308
(412) 614-9001


Emily Collins
ecollins@fairshake-els.org


Status of Program: operational as of April 2014

Want to get your program into the directory? Email sara.smith@americanbar.org.

Spread the word about the value of incubators with the new Incubator Infographic. Click to download.

OKLAHOMA


Tulsa Immigrant Resource Network

University of Tulsa College of Law's Boesche Legal Clinic
407 S. Florence Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74104

Mimi Marton
Visiting Assistant Clinical Professor and Director of TIRN
(918) 631-5799
mimi-marton@utulsa.edu

Status of program: operational as of 2008

OREGON


Catalyst Law Institute


Amanda Caffall, Executive Director
4380 SW Macadam Ave, Suite 190
Portland, OR 97239
amanda@catalystlawinstitute.org


Status of program: will be operational fall 2017

PENNSYLVANIA


Fair Shake Environmental Legal Services
3445 Butler Street, First Floor
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15201
(412) 614-9001

Emily Collins
ecollins@fairshake-els.org

Status of Program: operational as of April 2014


Pitt Legal Services Incubator
The University of Pittsburgh School of Law

Thomas Ross
Director
(412) 648-1312
tr1@pitt.edu

Status of Program: operational as of January 2016


Widener University/Dauphin County Bar Association Incubator Program

213 N. Front St
Harrisburg, PA 17101

J Palmer Lockard, II
Associate Professor of Law
Director, Civil Law Clinic
Widener University School of Law
3800 Vartan Way, Harrisburg, PA 17110
(717) 541-3924
jlockard@mail.widener.edu
 

Status of program: operational as of January 2015

RHODE ISLAND


Rhode Island Center for Justice
Roger Williams University School of Law Fellowship
150 Washington Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903

Robert McCreanor
(401) 491-1101
rmccreanor@centerforjustice.org

Status of program: operational as of March 2015

SOUTH DAKOTA

Collaborative Legal Incubator Program (CLIP)
East River Legal Services 

Taneeza Islam
CLIP Director, A Program of East River Legal Services
335 N. Main Ave Suite 300
Sioux Falls SD 57104
(605) 336-9230 ext. 3
clipdirectors@erlservices.com 
www.clipsd.org


Status of program: operational as of November 2015; will launch with its first cohort October 2016 

TEXAS


Texas Apprenticeship Network

Texas A&M University School of Law


Professor Susan Fortney
Texas A&M University School of Law
Fort Worth, Texas 76102
sfortney@law.tamu.edu


Status of program: funding received April 2016; launching September 2016


Texas Opportunity & Justice Incubator
State Bar of Texas


Paul Rogers
Purchasing and Facilities Director
State Bar of Texas
paul.rogers@texasbar.com


Status of program: will be operational April 2017

UTAH


Open Legal Services
66 Exchange Place
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Shantelle Argyle
(801) 433-9915 ext. 201
shantelle@openlegalservices.org

Status of program: operational as of November 2013


University Law Group

S. J. Quinney College of Law, University of Utah

Christian A. Johnson
The University of Utah
332 South 1400 East
S. J. Quinney College of Law
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
(801) 585-5201
christian.johnson@law.utah.edu


Status of program: operational as of February 2012

VERMONT


Vermont Lawyer Incubator Pilot Project
The Vermont Bar Association and Vermont Law School

Mary C. Ashcroft
Legal Access Coordinator
Vermont Bar Association
(802) 223-2020
mashcroft@vtbar.org

Margaret Martin Barry
Professor and Assoc. Dean
of Clinical and Experiential Programs
Vermont Law School
(802) 831-1036
mbarry@vermontlaw.edu

Status of Program: operational as of May 2014

VIRGINIA


Richmond Legal Development Center
8310 Midlothian Turnpike
Suite B
Richmond, VA 23235
info@rldclaw.org

Status of Program: operational as of September 2013

WASHINGTON


Family Law Fellowship
Eastside Legal Assistance Program (ELAP)

Jerry Kroon, Executive Director
Lou Manuta, Managing Attorney
(425) 747-7274
info@elap.org


Status of Program: operational as of April 2014


Low Bono Incubator Program
Seattle University School of Law
901 12th Ave., Sullivan Hall 117
Seattle, WA 98122-1090

Diana K. Singleton
Director, Access to Justice Institute
(206) 398-4168
singletd@seattleu.edu

Status of program: operational as of January 2014

INTERNATIONAL

Centro Comunitario de Servicios Legales (Community Legal Services Center) CECSEL, Dominican Republic


Luis Calcaño Nuñez, Esq.
(829) 922-3421
luiscalcanonunez@gmail.com


Status of program: operational as of April 2014


Insaf Centre for Legal Excellence, Islamabad, Pakistan


Syed Ali Raza, program director
Insaf Network of Pakistan
House #278, Street #14, Sector F-10/2
Islamabad, Pakistan
+92 301 8559845
razaali@inp.org.pk
http://www.inp.org.pk/


Status of program: operational as of February 2016


Symbiosis Law School, Symbiosis International University, Pune, India

Professor Santosh Aghav
saghav@symlaw.ac.in


Status of program: inaugurated in 2010; updated and fully operational as of 2014