Nomination Process

Louis M. Brown Award for Legal Access

Award Criteria

The criteria were revised in 2007 to include the following points:

  1. Significant improvement of the delivery of legal services and information to moderate income people - 30 points

  2. Innovation in the development, funding or implementation of the delivery of legal services - 30 points

  3. The ability to replicate the program or project in other settings - 25 points

  4. Demonstrated success in the operation of the program or project - 15 points

  5. Demonstrated capacity to generate compensation for lawyers providing affordable legal services - 15 points

Nomination Information

The nomination form one must fill out to submit a nomination includes the following sections:

  1. Program Description

    Provide a brief (200 word or less) description of the project, program or individual being nominated. Be certain to identify the contribution made for the advancement of legal services access to those of moderate income. The description should also include information about the ability to replicate the program or project.

  2. Supporting Materials

    The nomination may include specific documentation and other materials, such as news articles, that demonstrate the nominee's contributions. If possible, please provide web links to articles, web pages, etc.

The nomination period for the 2017 Award is now OPEN. Submit your nomination by filling out the Brown Award Nomination Form. The deadline for 2017 Award nominations is December 2, 2016. 

Eligibility For Nomination

  • Nominations may be made by others, although self-nomination is encouraged;
  • Prior Brown Award recipients are not eligible to reenter in subsequent years. Individuals connected with such programs, however, are not precluded from nomination for a new program or project; and
  • Recipients of Meritorious Recognitions are eligible for subsequent nomination.

Selection Process

The ABA Standing Committee on the Delivery of Legal Services reviews the nominations and selects the Brown Award recipient. The Award is presented during the ABA Midyear Meeting.

Meritorious Recognition Awards may be granted to additional nominees at the Committee's discretion. The Committee reserves the right not to present the Award in a given year.

Suitable nominees will be included in the Committee publication Profiles of Moderate Income Delivery Programs and featured on the Committee's website.

Brown Select

In addition to the Committee’s determination of the Brown Award recipient, the Committee sponsors Brown Select to give the general public the opportunity to vote for their favorite nominee online, elevate the awareness of the Award and advance insights into the work of the nominees. Voting for the 2017 Brown Select winner will begin after December 2, 2016 - please check back then. Click here to view the 2016 Award nominees and winner.