ABA Section of Antitrust Law | Chair's Message

A Message From The Chair

Fifty Countries and Counting, Sixty Sessions and More - at Spring Meeting

William MacLeodCompetition and consumer protection are convening in Washington for an early spring this year.  Officials from Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas, along with practitioners from over fifty countries will descend on D.C. for the one event that antitrust, advertising and privacy lawyers can't miss:  The Spring Meeting of the Section of Antitrust Law, March 29 - 31.

William MacLeodOn the agenda are more programs than ever before - fireside chats with foreign agency heads, major pronouncements from featured enforcers, deep dives into dozens of subjects, and dinner with General David Petraeus, an expert without peer on security, diplomacy, intelligence and economics.  Wondering about world prospects?  The General will take our questions.

We will present awards.  The Section's Hall of Fame will grow when we grant the highest honor we can bestow - the SAL Lifetime Achievement Award.  Come to our Wednesday luncheon and see who will take home the SAL-LAA, and who else will be recognized for annual achievements.

It's all happening at a new venue, the Marriott Marquis, in the heart of new Washington, close to Capitol Hill, Penn Quarter, CityCenter, and the Verizon Center.  Stay over after we finish and see "The Greatest Show on Earth."  The historic farewell tour of the Ringling Bros/Barnum & Bailey Circus will open Friday for a final Washington weekend at Verizon.   

You won't even need to step outside for the greatest competition event on earth.  Center ring will be right at the Marquis.  There you can enjoy more CLE, more space to work, more corners for coffee with colleagues, more receptions, and of course more rooms at the inn.

Still, D.C. will be filling up fast this Spring.   Book your stay now and beat the competition!

Hoping to see you there,

Bill MacLeod
Chair, Section of Antitrust Law 2016-2017